Topics Map > Campus Services > D2L - Desire2Learn

D2L: Add/Delete an Item for a Module in the Course Content

This article how to add and delete times for modules in course content.

STEPS TO FOLLOW:
  1. Locate the desired course in D2L via the course search.
  2. Click the course's Content link from the navbar.
  3. Locate what module you wish to place a new item.
  4. Click the module's New button, and then select Upload File.
  5. Upload Option
    Upload Files
  6. On the Add a File screen, choose the location where your file is stored by drilling down to it through My Computer, and then click the Upload button.
  7. Upload Files
    Add a file
  8. The root directory for your course is the default location where your uploaded file will be stored. If you would like to store it elsewhere, click the Choose Destination button. A box similar to the one shown below will pop up, so you can create a new folder, or select an existing folder within the course to save the file in. For information on Distance Learning's D2L course-file-management standards, click here.
  9. Choose Destination box
  10. If you chose a new destination, click Select Path, and then click Add on the Add a File screen. Otherwise, just click Add.
  11. NOTE: If you click Add, and a file already exists with the same name, D2L will ask if you wish to overwrite the existing one. To replace the file, click Update, otherwise click Cancel.

    Duplicate files message
DELETE AN ITEM:
  1. Locate the desired course in D2L via the course search.
  2. Click the course's Content link from the navbar.
  3. Locate the module you wish to delete an item from.
  4. Select the drop down arrow next to the item you wish to delete.
  5. Select Delete Topic.
  6. Delete topic
  7. From the Delete Topic pop-up, select one of the following options:
    • Remove the topic from Content but keep the associated file or activity in the course-- this option only deletes the link from the content section, not the file in the course root.
    • Permanently delete both the topic from Content and the associated file or activity from the course-- this option deletes the link from the content section and the file in the course root.
  8. Now that you’ve selected an option, click the Delete button.
NOTE: You cannot delete any image files or quicklink files that are associated with a content file.



Keywords:course d2l training module add delete   Doc ID:52168
Owner:Beth A.Group:UW Platteville
Created:2015-06-09 16:17 CDTUpdated:2016-09-01 18:14 CDT
Sites:UW Platteville
Feedback:  0   1