D2L: Adding a Blackboard Collaborate Ultra Online Room

Blackboard Collaborate Ultra is an alternative solution for Online Rooms. The Ultra version is cleaner and doesn’t require the Java applet. It is, however, flash based, which restricts usage on iOS devices. Google Chrome is designated as the preferred browser, and is required for sharing your screen or an application.

For more information, please see the following links:

Adding a Blackboard Ultra Online Room in D2L

Important: Google Chrome is the preferred browser to use with Collaborate Ultra.

  1. Open D2L and navigate to the course where you want to create an Online Room. All students in that course will have automatic access to the D2L Online Room.
  2. Select Content from the menu bar and select or create a module where you wish to link to the Online Room.
  3. In the designated course module, click the drop-down arrow for Add Existing Activities and select External Learning Tools.
  4. ExternalLearningTools.png
    External learning tools
  5. On the following screen, select Online Rooms - Ultra.
  6. OnlineRooms.png
    Select Online Rooms - Ultra
  7. This creates a new item called Online Rooms - Ultra. If desired, it is possible to change this title by clicking Edit Properties In-Place and then clicking on Online Rooms - Ultra to access the field. For this example, the default name will not be changed.
  8. EditProperties.png
    Edit properties in place
  9. Click on Online Rooms - Ultra.
Course Room Vs Sessions

When you create an online room, a Course Room is automatically created. There is only one course room, and it is always open unless you disable it. That means anybody with a link to the room can access the room at any time. In contrast, Sessions have to be created, and access can be restricted to specific dates and times. There is only one course room, but you can set up multiple sessions. The default course room can be disabled with no effect on the sessions within the online room.

Course Room Settings

To make changes to the Course Room or view course room reports, click on the More Tools option (ellipses), which is located to the far right of the of the course room title, and then select one of the following options:

  • Get guest link - The only difference between this option and Edit settings is the guest link is highlighted when the course room pane is opened, so it can be copied easily.
  • Edit settings - To jump to instructions on how to edit settings, click here.
  • View reports - To jump to information on reports, click here.
  • Disable course room - Clicking on this option disables the course room, but you can enable it later if you decide to use it.
CreateSession.png
Course room options

Edit Course Room Settings

  1. If you do not need to invite participants from outside the classroom, remove the checkmark next to Guest Access and skip to Step 4
  2. The default role for Guest Access is Participant; however, access can be changed to:
    • Moderator - Full control over a session.
    • Presenter - Able to upload, share, edit and stop sharing.
    • Participant - Permissions are determined by the moderator.
  3. To send the course room link to guests, click on the link to highlight it; and then click the copy icon next to the field. This will allow you to easily paste the link into an email or another document.
  4. Session Settings apply to students who access the room through a D2L course. The Default Participant Role is Participant , but the following options are available:
    • Moderator - Full control over a session.
    • Presenter - Able to upload, share, edit and stop sharing.
    • Participant - Permissions are determined by the moderator.
    SessionSettings.PNG
  5. Check Allow Recording Downloads if recording is desired.
  6. Check Show profile pictures for moderator only if desired.
  7. The following Participant options are selected by default. Click on the checkmark next to each option if you do not want your participants to be allowed to:
    • Share their audio
    • Share their video
    • Post chat messages
    • Draw on whiteboard and files
  8. Remove the checkmark next to Allow users to join the session using a telephone if you do not want participants to access sessions in that manner.
  9. Click Save

View Course Room Reports

When you click on View reports under the options for a course room, a screen similar to the one shown below will open. Click on the report icon, which is located at the end of any detail line in the report to drill down to more specific details.

ReportsView.PNG
Report view
The screen shot shown below, shows you an example of the specific details you can see. You can also export this information to a Printable format if you desire.
ReportDetails.PNG
Detailed course room report
Creating/Editing Sessions
  1. If no sessions have been created, click Create Session to open a session scheduling window.  
    Create first session
    If you would like to create additional settings, click the plus sign at the top-right corner of the Sessions screen to add additional sessions.  
    AddSession.png
    Adding additional sessions
    To edit an existing session, click on the More Tools option (ellipses) next to session you would like to edit, and then click Edit Settings.
    EditSessions.png
    Edit existing sessions
  2. Fill in the following event details:
    • Give the session a unique name.
    • Enter the Start date and time.
    • Enter the End date and time if applicable.
    • If you want the session to remain open, click the box next to No End (Open Session).
    • By default, Early Entry is set to allow entry to a session 15 minutes early. Other options allow participants to enter a session 30, 45, or 60 minutes early, or no early entry at all.
    • Check Repeat Session if the session will occur at fixed intervals. When you do so, options to repeat daily, weekly, or monthly will appear.
    • Enter a description, if desired.
    EventDetails.PNG
    Enter event details
  3. Scroll down to fill out the following Settings:
    • The Default Participant Role is Participant, but the following options are available:
      • Moderator: Full control over a session.
      • Presenter: Able to upload, share, edit and stop sharing.
      • Participant: Roles permissions are determined by the moderator.
    • Check Allow Recording Downloads if recording is desired.
    • Check Show profile pictures for moderator only if desired.
    • The following Participant options are selected by default. Click on the check mark next to each option if you do not want your participants to be allowed to:
      • Share their audio
      • Share their video
      • Post chat messages
      • Draw on whiteboard and files
    • Remove the checkmark next to Allow users to join the session using a telephone if you do not want participants to access sessions in that manner.
    • SessionSettings.PNG
      Sessions
  4. Click Save
  5. All sessions that are scheduled for this course are viewable here. If you would like to add another session, click the + sign at the top right of the screen and repeat Steps 8 through 10.
  6. SessionsView.png
    Scheduled sessions

    For more information on how to schedule meetings, click here.


If you have questions, please contact the DLC Help Desk at 608.342.1303, or 877.854.3083. You can also visit the DLC Help Desk's web page for information on hours of availability.




Keywords:Desire2Learn join   Doc ID:65764
Owner:Beth A.Group:UW Platteville
Created:2016-08-02 19:43 CDTUpdated:2017-02-22 22:10 CDT
Sites:UW Platteville
Feedback:  0   0