Topics Map > Campus Services > Web
Web - Unpublish a page
Instructions for how to unpublish a page.
What is the difference between unpublishing and archiving a webpage?
“Unpublish” removes the page from the public eye; the content steward can still access the page and make changes or republish if needed. “Unpublish” could be used for pages no longer needed OR for temporary pages that do not need to be up all the time (such as for certain times of the year or certain events, like Tech Mashup).
“Archive” does not permanently delete the page; however, the steward will no longer be able to change the status on their own. “Archive” should be used for content that is definitely out of date and no longer relevant. If a page is mistakenly archived, the steward will have to call the ITS Help Desk and request that Web Dev reset the page.
1. Make sure you are logged in to the campus website.
2. Visit the webpage you'd like to archive or unpublish.
3. Click the Moderate tab in the tab of options:
4. Click Unpublish next to the green highlighted selection:
5. Select Archive or Unpublish from the options.
6. Click "Unpublish" and the page will be set to the new moderation state. Done
If you have questions, please contact the Web Development office at 608.342.1444 or email@example.com.